On Mutual Recognition Agreement

Mutual recognition agreements (MRAs) promote trade in goods between the European Union and third countries and facilitate market access. These are bilateral agreements designed to facilitate industry access to compliance assessment. The EU-Australia agreement covers the following areas of the Mutual Recognition Agreement in compliance assessment, certification and marking between New Zealand and Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway (which came into force on 1 March 2000). Covered sectors: pharmaceuticals (good manufacturing practices), medical devices, telecommunications terminals, low voltage devices, electromagnetic compatibility (CEM), machinery and equipment under pressure. The MRA with Israel is an agreement on the evaluation of compliance and acceptance of industrial products (ACAA). It is a specific type of MRI based on the alignment of the legal system and infrastructure of the country concerned with that of the EU. Restrictions: Capacity determination applies to routine inspections. In the future, the following types of products and inspections may be included in the scope of the agreement, pending further reflection: the transition period for medicines for human use, which falls under the agreement, ended on 11 July 2019: agreement on mutual recognition of the compliance assessment between Turkey and EFTA (which came into force on 5 July 2011). Protocol E of the EFTA-Turkey Free Trade Agreement covers all sectors of products harmonized in trade between the EFTA-EEA states and Turkey. With regard to trade between Turkey and Switzerland, this protocol applies to sectors covered by the EU-Switzerland OPR in which the corresponding legislation is considered equivalent to this agreement. Here you will find an overview of the areas covered as well as links to the relevant compliance assessment agencies (CABs). During a transitional period, the authorities assess each other`s pharmaceutical legislation, guidelines and regulatory systems under the agreement.

The text of the Protocol on Mutual Recognition of the Results of the Compliance Assessment is part of the Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA) between Canada and the European Union and its Member States. Mutual recognition agreements set out the conditions under which a party (non-member state) accepts compliance assessment results (for example. B tests or certifications) conducted by the compliance assessment agencies (CABs) designated by the other party to demonstrate compliance with the requirements of the first part (non-member) and vice versa. Trade agreements are trade agreements designed to facilitate market access and promote greater international harmonization of compliance standards while protecting consumer safety. Protocol 12 of the EEA agreement ensures that the EEA works well and homogenely. The protocol ensures that, when it takes the initiative to negotiate mutual recognition agreements, the EU will negotiate on the basis of the conclusion by the third countries concerned of parallel MRA with the EEA-EFTA states which are equivalent to those concluded by the EU [Box 1].